Water Pasta! Wait, whaaat…?

Hello, you!

I like cooking. Well, I think I developed my fondness as I had no choice but to cook here in Melbourne. Anyway, Pasta has been one of my favorite dishes of all time. Although this Italian food is seen as quite ‘fancy’ in Indonesia, that is not the case in Melbourne. People eat it all the time and now I just get used to eating (and cooking) it as well. HAHAH.

Today I think I will just share one of my favorite pasta recipe. The one recipe I always relies on whenever I feel too lazy to come out of my house. This recipe is definitely perfect for you who are currently living abroad or away from home like me. Since, let’s face it, we would not be bothered to cook at our parent’s home right?

Anyway, this pasta recipe has saved me from numerous starvation episodes as it only takes about 8 minutes to make and the ingredients are so cheap and common that you’d probably already have it in your kitchen at this very moment (I know right?!). Let’s just get on to it then.

Ingredients:

  • Any type of pasta you prefer. Ever since I got here, I have tried different types of pasta (bow tie, linguine, fettuccine, spaghetti, etc). But my definite preference is the Shell shaped one. But you can just use whichever type you like since they basically taste the same just with different texture and shape.
  • Indonesian Chili Sauce (Belibis preferably, or maybe ABC, or any other familiar brand?)
  • Kewpie Mayonnaise or any other mayonnaise.
  • Spam or Corned Beef
  • Cheese! IMPORTANT!
  • Butter (Salted or not does not really matter)
  • Chopped Red Onion
  • Salt
  • Pepper
  • Garlic Powder
  • Pepper Flakes (If you want a really good one, buy Boncabe. It is also an Indonesian branded seasoning which you can find in any Asian grocery around you (maybe) :))
  • Water

SO, this is how you make it:

  1. Firstly, you cook the pasta according to the instructions stated on the back of the packaging. But generally, you boil water with your saucer, then you put in the pasta (the amount is up to you, but usually I just put like one and a half cup for one serving). It would be better if you drizzle some olive oil inside the boiling water as it would help the pasta not to stick to each other when they’re done.
  2. After that, you just wait until the pasta become softer for about 7 minutes.
  3. While waiting for your pasta to be cooked, chop down a quarter of the red onion (I’m talking about the huge red onion and not the shallots you usually find in Indonesia).
  4. Also, chop down the spam into the size you like. Just cut 3 average slices of the big sized spam (that’s quite a lot already). But of course, just add more if you like 🙂
  5. Grate the cheese and take about 1/2 cup of it, put it on a bowl.
  6. Add in the seasonings (Salt, Pepper, Chili Flakes, Garlic Powder) into the cheese bowl  in the amount that suits your preference. Some may like it more spicy or saltier, so you just adjust the combination. Just make sure you don’t add too much or too little.
  7. Then, melt down half table spoon of butter on separate pan.
  8. Put in the chopped onion and stir it through until the pieces become translucent and fragrant.
  9. Add in the chopped spam. Stir around together with the onion until you know it is crisp enough and not raw.
  10. Afterwards, pour in 3/4 cup of water to the pan.
  11. Add 1 table spoon of the chili sauce, and 1 table spoon of mayonnaise to the ham+water soup. Stir until well mixed.
  12. Wait until the water is bubbling, then pour down the seasoned cheese mixture to your pan and stir it well until the cheese melts and become well combined with the water.
  13. Now, I hope the pasta is cooked as the whole chopping process should’ve taken about 5 minutes 🙂
  14. Drain the pasta, and put it on the sauce mixture. Stir it well.
  15. Move the pasta to the same bowl you used to contain the cheese and now you’re ready to eat it! WOOHOO!

Yeah! The idea of this recipe is to make it spontaneously, only when you want to eat it. Don’t make too much and store it on refrigerator. Because it would not taste the same. Trust me. Hehehe. This recipe is super easy and you should definitely try it sometimes. Unfortunately, I don’t have any picture of this dish in my phone at the moment. But I promise to post it here once I cook it again. YAY!

I hope this recipe helps. It is cheap and easy, and definitely healthier than instant noodles. 🙂

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

