Me Before You

Hello guys, I think from now on, I will write book reviews in this blog.

I have always loved reading novels, especially romance novels since I was in secondary school. Hence, it’s just natural for me to share some of my experience on reading these titles here. I hope my brief reviews could help you decide whether you want to read the book or not. 🙂

  • 15507958Title: Me Before You
  • Author: Jojo Moyes
  • Genre: Romance
  • Rating: 4/5
  • Synopsis:

So, basically the story is about Louisa Clark, a girl who has just lost her job and Will Traynor, a formerly successful guy who ended up having his whole body paralyzed after an accident. Lou was desperate looking for job and after a while, she was finally assigned to take care of Will and from there, their love story began.

  • Review:

In my opinion, this book is very very well written. Although the story line is quite predictable, Moyes managed to satisfy my needs for clear background and motives explanation for each of the characters. I really love how the relationship between Will and Lou grew as I read the following pages of the book. They’re just so sweet, like how Will’s limitation did not really change the way he actually is on the inside, and how Lou eventually managed to peel Will’s layers of defensiveness as they grew fond of each other.

However, I think this book would be much better if it stands alone, without any sequels or anything. Because it allows the reader to wonder about the character’s situation after the first book instead of being led to another set of new love story. I also don’t like the fact that they could not be together in the end, although the situation is quite understandable and is not something that could be changed. Nonetheless, because of this, I deducted the rating of this book (I’m a sucker for happy endings).

Therefore, I do recommend this book to you who love reading heartfelt romance novels. This book does not include mushy gestures or excessive romantic scenes, but you will still be able to feel their affections toward each other. If you decide to read this book, don’t forget to also watch the trailer of the movie which will also be released this year (click the link!).

AND YOU KNOW WHAT, the cast for Lou will be Emilia Clarke (yes, Khaleesi) and Sam Clafflin will be Will (OMG, Finnick)! So, if this information does not make you want to watch the trailer, I don’t know what’s wrong with you. 😀

Leave a Reply

