The Whole Picture

Hello, readers!

As you may all know, I love watching movies. Particularly romance movies. Hence, in this blog, I’m going to share with you guys my all time favorite romance movie entitled FLIPPED (FYI, this statement should not be taken lightly, as I have watched numerous great chick-flicks).

mv5bmtu2njq1nzc4mf5bml5banbnxkftztcwntm0ndk1mw-_v1_sy1000_cr006731000_al_

I discovered this movie probably 6 years ago and I still love it very much.

The movie talks about first love of a girl and a boy in 1960s. It’s just so mesmerizing and fascinating to learn how people of that time lived in such simplicity and modesty. Their conflicts were quite generic, but the way they portray and visualize them were just extraordinary. Moreover, the main actor of this movie is very handsome too. HAHA

Out of the many moral lessons embedded in this movie, what struck me the most was the idea of ‘seeing the whole picture’.

The conversation in the movie where they talked about it went like this:

Juli Baker: I guess it’s something about his eyes or maybe his smile.

Richard Baker: And what about him?

Juli Baker: What?

Richard Baker: You have to look at the whole landscape.

Juli Baker: What does that mean?

Richard Baker: A painting is more than the sum of it’s parts. A cow by itself is just A cow. A meadow by itself is just grass, flowers. And the sun picking through the trees, is just a beam of light. But you put them all together and it can be magic.

And I was like…

I guess it is very relatable, how people tend to focus on examining certain qualities of someone per se, without actually looking at his or her whole being. Thus, someone does not have to be perfect in something as long as their other traits complement his or her flaws, making him an iridescent being who is just unique and beautiful in incomparable ways.

I’m trying hard to keep reminding myself to do so all the time, although it is a constant struggle. Nonetheless, I strongly recommend you all to watch this movie when you have time to spare.

🙂

Leave a Reply

